top of page


Loren R. Maxey

Chairman of the Board of Directors and President of the District (2000-Present)

Loren Maxey has been a District tap holder since 1963 when ELCO was established. He currently owns three taps and has business property interests in several more. He lives at 1101 Clark Street in Northeast Ft. Collins.Loren is now retired from Maxey Companies which was founded in 1969. The companies consist of three divisions: Manufacturing (truck bodies, specialty trailers and snow grooming machines); Truck Equipment Sales and Trailer Repair; and Max-Air Trailer Sales. All are located in East Ft. Collins and are overseen by his son, Carl, the General Manager.


Loren is still involved in a hay, pasture, horses, and small cattle operation next to the old downtown airpark. He was a Ft. Collins city councilman from 1987-1993 and serves on the Larimer County Fair Board from 1990-2012. Currently he is also on the North Poudre Irrigation Board and belongs to two antique tractor clubs. Loren is also an ELCO representative on the governing board of the SCFP.

Joseph H. Fonfara

Board of Directors (2020-Present)


Joe and his family have lived in Fort Collins since 1976 and have resided within the District since 1992. Joe received his Bachelor of Science degree in business administration from the University of Oklahoma in 1971, his Juris Doctor Law degree from the University of Oklahoma in 1975, and his Masters of Law degree from Southern Methodist University in 1976.


Joe has practiced law in Fort Collins and has represented the District in legal matters since 1976.  He retired from the practice of law with Hasler Fonfara and Goddard, LLP on September 30, 2020.  Joe has served as a director of numerous non-profit organizations including his church, his children’s school, and Hospice.

Scott T. Baker

Treasurer - Board of Directors (2000-Present)


A native of Fort Collins, Scott has lived in the District for over 25 years. Members of his family have lived in the District for over 35 years. Scott is a graduate of Colorado State University, earning a BS in Natural Resources Conservation Education, and a MBA. Scott is a 30 year veteran of the financial services industry, and is a Certified Investment Management Analyst.


Non-profit organizations have played a role in Scott's life over the years, serving on several boards and fund raising committees. Scott is an avid scuba diver. His part time avocation is training and certifying new scuba divers and scuba diving instructors.

Rodney Rice

Board of Directors (2010-Present)


Rodney is a native of Ft. Collins and a graduate of Colorado State University with a degree in Construction Management. He is currently the President and CEO of Hydro Construction Company; a construction company in Fort Collins specializing in water and wastewater treatment since 1974.


Much of Rodney’s time is focused on ways to give back to his community. He serves on several non-profit boards and is one of the founding members of the “Hydro Construction Charitable Fund” a fund managed by the Community Foundation which benefits children, the elderly and families. Rod enjoys spending time with friends and family and has many interests including traveling, hunting, fishing, skiing, snowmobiling and flying.

James Clay

Board of Directors (2013-Present)

Jim has been a resident of Northern Colorado since 1985 and enjoys working on his home, hunting, fishing and spending time with his family. Jim is president of Advance Tank and Construction Company located in Wellington. Advance Tank is a heavy plate steel fabrication and erection company specializing in the design, fabrication and erection of welded steel tanks for a variety of industries.


bottom of page